Black Diamond Drift 176cm:

I usual consider relationships with skis very personal. We date for a few seasons, I find a newer and better one, then move on. I am not a guy who skis lots of different skis because of conditions, but mostly ski one or two skis for years, until a better one come along. I think the Drift may have ruined that simplicity for me.

I love touring on this ski. For being 100mm under foot, the Drifts weight is just dreamy. And for skiing the back country where most of us are looking for powder turns, the Drift is just sublime. The slight rocker in the tip allows this ski to float really well, and makes the ski “ski” a bit bigger than I would have thought. I don’t have to use this ski in a larger size like other heavely rocker tipped skis, which I really like.

With that said, I wouldn’t call this ski a “one ski quiver”. Its a powder and touring machine, perfect for back country skiing. On groomer and hard-pack, the Drift is a bit out of its settings as it is a bit too soft to handle high speed, firm or variable terrain very well. That’s the weight savings working against you in sacrificing stiffness.

For the powder days, its perfect. Gotta long tour with some killer fresh descents? you bet. Where I won’t be taking the Drift to the resort on non-fresh days, it has instantly become my go-to backcounrty ski. If you see me out there, you know what I’ll be skiing on.

Retour à l'accueil